Traffic Court

A traffic citation has been issued for you to appear before the Mobile County District Court. If you fail to pay or otherwise dispose of your case prior to the court date and fail to appear on your court date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest, your driver’s license may be suspended by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, the fine may be increased, and any bond posted may be forfeited. The Court date on your copy of the ticket is NOT A TRIAL DATE; if you desire to plead NOT GUILTY and want a TRIAL, you must appear in court on your court date to request a TRIAL.

Tickets listed in the chart on the next page may be paid by entering a guilty plea without a required court appearance, provided you have not been convicted of two or more traffic offenses in the preceding 12 months. If you wish to avoid a court appearance and enter a plea of guilty, sign the Defendant’s plea of guilty on the back of your copy of the ticket and attach your money order or cashier’s check for the amount of fine and costs indicated and mail it to:

District Court Clerk - Traffic
205 Government Street
N. Tower, Room No. 338
Mobile, AL 36644-2338

You may also pay online at: Alapay.com

NO PERSONAL CHECKS. Personal checks will be returned causing a delay.

For questions or payment please contact the Alabama Traffic Service Center at traffic.alacourt.gov or by calling toll free (866) 954-9399. Cases may be paid on or before your court date with a credit or debit card by calling (877) 252-7294 or by accessing the following website: Alapay.com.

Processing of No-Insurance Tickets

THE DEFENDANT IS NOT REQUIRED TO APPEAR IN COURT IF THE DEFENDANT HAS PROOF OF INSURANCE BY THE COURT DATE ON THE VEHICLE DRIVEN AT THE TIME OF THE TICKET. MONTH TO MONTH POLICIES ARE NOT ACCEPTED.

For an out-of court settlement, defendant may provide proof, in person or by mail, before the court date and the case will be dismissed. Proof provided 30 days after the court date will result in the ticket being dismissed upon payment of court cost. Proof cannot be provided after 6 months of the court date; the ticket must be paid in full.

The same processing of no insurance tickets applies to no driver's license, expired driver's license, driver's license not in possession, improper tint, expired tag, equipment repairs and no medical card.

HELPFUL INFORMATION:
To avoid further court appearances, Defendant should bring to court all relevant documents at the first court appearance. For example, if the Defendant did not have insurance at the time the ticket was written, but has obtained insurance, proof of the new insurance may result in a lower fine. Also, if the Defendant had insurance coverage on another vehicle and the vehicle driven at the time of citation was newly purchased, the Defendant may bring proof of insurance on the other vehicle, proof of purchase of the newly purchased vehicle described in the ticket and a statement from the insurance provider that the newly purchased vehicle was covered at the time of citation, although the Defendant had not received the insurance card.

Tickets which may be paid without a court appearance.

Offenses

Fines and Costs

Expired tag $194.00
Failure to use child restraint $194.00
Failure to wear safety belt $46.00
Failure to yield right-of-way $189.00
Following too closely $189.00
Improper brakes/backing $189.00
Improper lights $189.00
Improper passing $189.00
Improper signal $179.00
Improper tag/No tag $194.00
Improper tires $189.00
Improper turn $189.00
No proof of insurance $219.00
Operating a motor vehicle without a driver's license/expired license $244.00
Running Red Light or Stop Sign $189.00
Speeding (less than 25 mph over limit) $189.00
Speeding (25 mph or more over limit, but under 90 mph) $209.00
Speeding (90-94 mph) $234.00
Speeding (95-100 mph) $269.00
Speeding (less than 25 mph in construction zone, workers present) $209.00
Speeding (25 mph or more in construction zone, workers present) $249.00

NOTE: FINE AND COURT COSTS MAY BE GREATER IF NOT PAID BEFORE THE COURT DATE.

Please note that traffic violations not listed in the chart above cannot be paid without court appearance.

Defensive Driving School Options

You may attend the approved Driver Education Program conducted by the Alabama Safety Institute, if you meet the following criteria:

  1. You must appear in court and request driving school. This includes out of state and out of county residence.
  2. Have not received a moving violation within the last three years.
  3. Have not attended a traffic school within the last three years.
  4. Citation is not an aggravated violation, i.e. 25 miles an hour or over, eluding police, racing on highway, etc.
  5. Citation does not require a court appearance, i.e. speeding 89 miles an hour or over, eluding police, racing on highway, etc.

All five of the above criteria must be met. If you are eligible to complete this option, the case will be nol pross and no points will be assessed to your driving record.
NO ONLINE DRIVING COURSES ARE ACCEPTED.

NOTE: If you already made a credit card payment for the ticket than you cannot attend driving school unless the payment is voided (approved by clerk).  THERE IS ONLY A SHORT WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY FOR THE CREDIT CARD PAYMENT TO BE VOIDED.  Contact the clerk immediately if you made payment but want to have it canceled to attend driving school instead, as payment needs to be voided the same day (before 5pm) or else it is loaded into the Alapay system and cannot be cancelled.